Looking for a delicious dairy-free treat? Perhaps something healthier than ice cream?
If you’re craving froyo but avoiding dairy, can you go to Menchie’s? We looked into it and this is what we found…
Does Menchie’s Have Dairy Free Products?
Menchie’s is a frozen yogurt chain that opened in the US in 2007. They offer self-serve frozen yogurt in a variety of flavors and topping choices. All of their sorbet options are dairy-free, and they also now offer a range of dairy free vegan flavors.
This article takes a look at the Menchie’s yogurt flavour range, focussing especially on the non-dairy and plant based options and how you can find them.
Is There Such A Things As Non-Dairy Frozen Yogurt?
Yogurt that is classed as “non-dairy” is made from no-dairy plant sources. Non-dairy yogurt can be made from almonds, oats, cashews, peas, soy, and coconut. You can now purchase all of these yogurt varieties in most supermarkets.
Menchie’s traditionally offered their sorbet range as an alternative to the dairy yogurts. These sorbet desserts are popular (although higher in sugar than the dairy yogurts), especially during the summer.
However, Menchie’s have now introduced a range of vegan (or plant based) froyo yogurts which are made with oat milk, almond milk, and coconut milk. These yogurts more than match the traditional dairy options in flavour and texture.
What Are Menchie’s Dairy Free Flavors?
Menchie’s list all their froyo flavours on their website. The yogurts are divided into categories such as ‘non-fat’, ‘low fat’, ‘tart’, ‘sorbet’, ‘no sugar added’, ‘low carb’, and ‘gluten free’.
The dairy free and plant based options are scattered through the menu. It’s easy to identify them as Menchie’s have included detailed nutrient and ingredient lists for each item.
The dairy free flavours include:
- Fruity Candy Sorbet made with Swedish Fish Flavor
- Fudgy Chocolate Sorbet
- Summertime Watermelon Sorbet
- Wild Cherry Sorbet with a Splash of Lime
- Vegan Dark Chocolate Mousse made with Almond Milk
- Vegan Mixed Berry made with Oat Milk
- Vegan Salted Caramel Made with Almond Milk
- Paradise Fruit Punch Sorbet
- Pomegranate Razz Sorbet
- Simply Mango Sorbet
Note that as Menchie’s introduce new diary free and vegan options, they are also phasing others out. This means that a ‘current’ list of flavours does not stay current for long.
It’s also important to realize that each Menchie’s location stocks different flavours. This means if you’re looking for something in particular, check that your location has it first.
Menchie’s state on their website that flavors vary by region, season, and location. Menchie’s fans advise that this applies especially to the vegan and dairy free options.
How Do I Find Menchie’s Dairy Free Flavors?
If you head over to the Menchie’s website, you’ll find their menu tab at the top of their page under Froyo and Cakes. Scroll down, and you’ll see that you’re in “all flavours”, with the tabs for all the different kinds of yogurt to the right.
There’s no tab for ‘dairy free’, or for ‘vegan’. So, what you do is scroll and click through the different choices and you’ll find the information you need under each one.
You can be sure that all of the ‘sorbet’ desserts are dairy-free. And most (but not all) of the ‘non-fat’ options are dairy free. The vegan flavours are clearly labelled. You can read through the nutrition and ingredient lists included for each dessert.
Take the Vegan Oatmeal Cookie, for example. According to the ‘about this flavor’ list, this yogurt is nonfat, gluten free, dairy free, has no artificial colours and no artificial flavors, no high fructose corn syrup, and is made with real oats.
Does Menchie’s Have Vegan Toppings?
Menchie’s offer a huge range of toppings, but unfortunately there’s no nutritional information listed next to each one.
The menu presents photographs of each topping, making it easier to scroll through and choose what you need. It’s not hard to make sure you’re getting vegan/dairy free toppings but remember that not all stores carry the same items, and toppings can be discontinued without warning.
Here are a few examples of Menchie’s (currently available) yogurt toppings (note the different food values of each one):
- Plain almonds – dairy free/ vegan
- Andes Mints
- Blue gummy sharks – dairy free
- Bursting boba – dairy free/ vegan (unless it’s sweetened with honey)
- Cap’n Crunch crunch berries – dairy free/ vegan
- Carob chips – dairy free/ vegan
- Marshmallow Sauce – dairy free
- Coconut – dairy free/ vegan
- Fresh Apples – dairy free/ vegan
- Fresh Bananas – dairy free/ vegan
- Fresh Blackberries – dairy free/ vegan
- Fresh Blueberries – dairy free/ vegan
- Fresh Cantaloupe – dairy free/ vegan
- Sour Gummi Worms – diary free
- Sour Gummy Poppers – diary free
- Sour Patch Kids- dairy free
- Dark chocolate raspberry hearts
- Frosted animal cookies
- Kraft cool whip
- Nutter Butter Cookies – dairy free/ vegan
Menchie’s continue to expand their range of froyo flavours to include dairy free and plant based options.
Just scroll through their online menu to find flavors to suit you. You’ll also find vegan and/or dairy free toppings to add to your yogurt.